Monday, September 30, 2013

LIFE CODE by Dr. Phil McGraw

     Life Code written by Dr. Phil McGraw is a very informative view of the new rules for winning in the real world because the world we live in has changed.  Dr. McGraw tells you about the ugly truth about the users, abusers, and overall "bad guys" we all have in our lives.  You'll gain incredible insight into these negative people, which he refers to as Baiters (Backstabbers, Abusers, Imposters, Takers, Exploiters, Reckless), and you'll gain tools to protect yourself from their assaults.

    Dr. Phil discusses the "Evil Eight", "Secret Playbook," and the "Nefarious 15" tactics used to exploit you and take what is yours mentally, physically, socially and professionally. Life Code then focuses on you and your playbook, which contains the “Sweet 16” tactics for winning in the real world.
   Definitely a good, easy read and an eye opener!

Saturday, September 28, 2013

The League of Delphi     Chris Everheart

It took me a few chapters to get into this book but once I did, I couldn't put it down.
Zach returns to Arcanville ten years after his mom disappeared with him and kept him in hiding.   Arcanville is a wealthy town ruled by a secret league in which his father, now believes to be dead, was vice-president.
Zach is able to get into the library where all the secrets are locked up.  He was downloading the deepest secrets when he hears someone coming into the library.  Upon his quick escape, he is in an accident and ends up in the hospital.  When he wakes up, the dic is missing.
Ever chapter is a cliff hangers, leaving you desperate for the next!  Book two, The Delphi Deception is due out October 2013.    In other reviews this series is compared to The Hunger Games series.

Monday, September 16, 2013

Read a Classic

Carson McCullers wrote her first novel, The Heart Is a Lonely Hunter, when she was only 23 years old. She became an overnight literary sensation, with such preeminent Southern writers as Tennessee Williams and Richard Wright praising her talent. The book also was chosen by the Modern Library as one of the top 100 works of fiction published in the 20th century. This astonishing debut novel, published in 1940, is a story of life in a small southern mill town in the 1930s, told through the eyes of several people who are longing for something bigger and better in their lives. At the center of the story is John Singer, a deaf-mute man who lives in a boarding house and takes his meals at the local diner. Many people are drawn to him, because of his kind eyes and his manner of truly paying attention to others. One of these is Mick Kelly, the 12-year-old daughter of the household from whom Singer rents a room. Mick has a lot of responsibilities at home, taking care of her younger brothers, but she dreams of being a musician. She even tries to build a violin from an old ukelele. Another is Jake Blount, a loud and boorish drunk who stumbles into town and is befriended by Singer. Jake is passionate about social justice for the oppressed, which tends to get him into trouble. Biff Brannon, the owner of the cafe where Singer eats, lives a lonely life, alienated from his wife and struggling to understand himself and others. Dr. Copeland is a respected black physician in town. Although he is held in high esteem by his fellow black citizens, he is not loved by them or by his family because of his rigid attitudes about how black people should conduct themselves. The characters are linked together in various ways, and the reader becomes a quiet observer of the town and its inhabitants, along with their longings and shortcomings. The book is like a snapshot of the heart of a southern town during a time when people didn't have much money, and relationships between blacks and whites were strained at best. This is the Morning Book Club's selection for September. Feel free to join us for a discussion of The Heart Is a Lonely Hunter on Friday, September 27, at 9 am at the library.

Tuesday, September 10, 2013

Revenge of a Not-So-Pretty Girl

Revenge of a Not-So-Pretty Girl by Carolita Blythe

At the beginning of Carolita Blythe’s story we are introduced to a young and no so pretty, inner-city girl named Faye. Faye is struggling with her family and her friends who are leading her to a life of crime and in general making her life difficult. A life-changing experience happens at the beginning of the story and gives Faye hope that she can live a better life and be a good person.

After robbing and nearly killing an old lady who used to be a movie star, Faye begins a transformation that will help her take control of her life. After helping the old lady after the robbery, they become close friends and Faye gets a new found confidence she never knew she had. But she still has to figure out how to get away from her controlling, abusive mother and keep her criminal friends far away from her life. How will she deal with these situations? Why does the old lady befriend someone who almost killed her? Find out by picking up Revenge of a Not-So-Pretty Girl by Carolita Blythe at the library today!

Thursday, September 05, 2013

Damascus Countdown

Joel Rosenberg, who is well known for political thrillers that lean toward the prophetic, does it again by writing another amazing, on-the-edge-of-your-seat fiction that coincides right with what is currently astir in today's international headlines. This is a story about Syria, Iran, America and CIA operative David Shirazi's mission to locate and disable two Iranian nuclear warheads before they are fired.  It's intense and wonderful!  I could only read a portion at a time, it was that intense. It will have you checking out the scriptures about Damascus and put you on ready for what is going to happen next in real life!